Upcoming Virtual Events


Throughout the year, we host a variety of virtual events at no cost to you. If you're interested in attending any of the events below, send us an email at hal.simonson@ig.ca and let us know which one.

Tax Refunds: Why it’s better not to get one

Tax Refunds: Why it’s better not to get one
Wednesday, March 7, 2024
10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 pm CT | 1 pm ET | 2 pm AT | 2:30 pm NL

Join Herp Lamba, Senior Vice President, Head of Business Development and Craig McIntyre, Director Tax & Estate Planning, Advanced Financial Planning as they discuss tax advice that could help optimize your income tax return with Revenue Canada.

This session will cover:
- Tax refunds, and why it’s BETTER not to receive one
- The differences between a tax deduction and tax credit
- How to reduce your income tax deductions at source
- What should you do with the extra dollars in your monthly income

There will also be a virtual Q&A at the end of the discussion.



Past Virtual Events

How to transition from your business to your retirement

How to transition from your business to your retirement
Thursday, February 22, 2024
10 am PT | 11 am MT | 12 pm CT | 1 pm ET | 1 pm AT | 2:30 pm NL

As a business owner, have you considered your comprehensive retirement plan? Did you know 76% of small business owners are planning to leave their business, but only 9% have a formal plan in place?

Join Amanda Lang and IG expert Aurèle Courcelles, AVP Tax & Estate Planning as they discuss how to navigate retirement when owning a business.

IG Comedy Tour: Caroline Rhea

IG Comedy Tour: Caroline Rhea
Thursday, February 15, 2024
5 pm PT | 6 pm MT | 7 pm CT | 8 pm ET | 9 pm AT | 9:30 pm NL

Join us for a night of fun and laughter online with celebrity comedian Caroline Rhea and a hilarious supporting cast that includes stand-up comedians Casey Corbin, Rob Pue and Kevin Bozeman!

The IG Comedy Tour is a coast-to-coast collection of stand-up comedy performances that have been making audiences happy since 2004. In this online event, we’ve gathered an all-star cast to perform from the Meridian Arts Centre in North York, ON.

2024 Market Outlook

2024 Market Outlook
Thursday, December 14, 2023
11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET | 3 pm AT | 3:30 pm NL

Join Philip Petursson, Chief Investment Strategist, and Ashish Utarid, Assistant Vice-President Investment Strategy as they share their team’s 2024 market outlook.


Topics include:

- Interest rates and the economy.
- Recession risks and inflation.
- Valuations and commodity prices.

Strategies to protect your financial future

Strategies to protect your financial future
Thursday, November 9, 2023
11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET | 3 pm AT | 3:30 pm NL

With the right financial strategies, you can take comfort in knowing that your home, your hard-earned savings and the lifestyle you enjoy won’t be at risk.

Join IG’s Head of Financial Planning Christine Van Cauwenberghe; our host, and personal finance expert, Melissa Leong; and IG's Vice President Insurance Distribution, Mike Thomas for this informative webinar.


Webinar topics include:

- Protecting your assets and lifestyle
- Preserving your estate by avoiding probate fees
- Ensuring lifelong comfort and care

Don't just choose a mortgage. Choose better mortgage advice.

Don't just choose a mortgage. Choose better mortgage advice.
Thursday, September 21, 2023
11 am PT | 12 pm MT | 1 pm CT | 2 pm ET | 3 pm AT | 3:30 pm NL

Hosted by our Head of Mortgage, Insurance & Banking Alana Riley; and Vice President, Mortgage & Banking Solutions Shauna Clarke, this webinar will show the importance of integrating your mortgage into your financial plan.